CharTRUEse LOVE

I am a sucker for anyone (or anything) who is misunderstood. This applies to people, but also things; whenever I see someone or something being underappreciated I feel the need to assert his/her/its virtues. Hence, brace yourself while I cry out in support for that citrusy-golden-green hue known as chartreuse. I love, love, love the color chartreuse. I think it’s not loved enough; I think people like it, but they don’t know exactly what to do with it. I love the bold statement it makes in clothes and in interiors. Indulge me while I sing the praises of the golden green hue that is so much more than just a color trend.

Many people are unaware that the color chartreuse has a rich and fascinating history, one which begins in France, and ends in my belly! Or, perhaps your patio. The color, chartreuse, is actually named for a highly alcoholic elixir. The color’s namesake, Chartreuse, is not just any booze, rather, it’s a special secret sauce of a concoction that is all wrapped up in religious and cultural history. Chartreuse, the liquor, has been made outside Grenoble, France since 1605, depending who you ask, and its recipe is so guarded that only two monks are allowed to know it at any given time.

In recent years, related drinks like pastis and absinthe, have come in and out of fashion in the U.S. (They are much more standard in Europe, especially France, particularly pastis which is a summertime staple in the South of France.), At times, these herb-y, anise-y tinged libations have become so en vogue, that Old School modernists writers, as well as, contemporary ‘hipmakers’ like Quentin Tarantino and Tom Waits have included shout outs to the spicy, unmistakable flavor in their work. That does not come without a price; chartreuse-y drinks have been denounced by some as the Hipster’s Jagermeister. But, never-you-mind the naysayers; whether you imbibe in the drink the modernist literati called la feé vert (the green fairy) or not, chartreuse, the color, is where it’s at.

Chartreuse 2

So, I love a dash of chartreuse-y spice in my cocktails, and j’adore it in decor. I think it’s about time that yellow-green-grassy-citrus-colored goodness gets some love. Recently, some major retailers are popping out some citrus tones but many people see it as too bold a statement, or don’t know how to work it into their existing decor. So, here I go waving the yellow-green flag. Chartreuse is remarkably versatile. I like it against earth tones like chocolate, or taupe. I really like it in partnership with orange and brown. I love it against deep grays. Of course, it pops against black and white, or pink (pink!!!). But, perhaps my all time favorite pairing is chartreuse and purple. Whether against plum-y purple or an eggplant purple, how can you not love this moody combo?

So let’s have a toast to Chartreuse. Viva la CharTRUEse LOVE!

Sources: 1 / / 2 / / 3 / / 4 / / 5 / / 6

Neutral colors mixed with pops of bright turquoise and chartreuse create an inviting space that’s perfect for entertaining and having a good time.

Make your ordinary life extraordinary with this eclectic meets modern, meets rustic office design.

Leave a Reply

